In pursuance of Article 107 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, the Provincial Assembly of Sindh shall stand dissolved on the expiration of its term of five years on the 28th May, 2018.
Printer Friendly


27th March 2017  |  PAS/Legis-R-72/2017/1491

Resolution No.72


The Secretary to Government of Pakistan,

Ministry of Water & Power,



The Chairman,

Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA),


The Chairman,

National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA),



The Chief Secretary to Government of Sindh,



The Secretary to Government of Sindh,

Energy Department,


The Chief Executive Officer,




Subject:        RESOLUTION NO. 72.


I am to state that the Provincial Assembly of Sindh in its sitting held on Tuesday, the 07th March, 2017 has unanimously passed the following Resolution moved by Mr. Khurram Sher Zaman, MPA:-


This House resolves that the Sindh Government approach the National Electric and Power Authority (NEPRA) and the Federal Ministry of Water and Power to get K-Electric to move immediately towards Time of Usage (TOU) metering and billing.


K-Electric was notified on September 22, 2016 by NEPRA vide letter No. TCD-09/6196-2016 to expedite the installation of TOU meters for all category of consumers and start billing on TOU tariff basis where such meters have already been installed. Moreover, the Time of Usage (TOU) metering/billing facility is legally covered under currently applicable SRO 571(I)2016 dated 24 June 2016 as approved by NEPRA and issued by the Federal Ministry of Water & Power.                                                                


In addition, K-Electric should install TOU meters throughout the rest of Karachi as soon as possible in order that all Karachiites can benefit from TOU tariffs.


The time has come for K-Electric to stop looting Karachiites with its high tariffs and highhandedness.”.



It is further stated that the Department concerned shall, within a period of one month from the date of communication of the resolution by the Assembly Secretariat, apprise the Assembly of the action taken on the resolution as required under sub-rule (2) of Rule 135 of Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of Sindh.





Provincial Assembly of Sindh


NO.PAS/LEGIS-R-72/2017/1491                           KARACHI, THE 27th MARCH, 2017


A Copy is forwarded for information to the:-

1.        Mr. Khurram Sher Zaman, MPA.

2.        Principal Secretary to the President, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Islamabad.

3.        Principal Secretary to Prime Minister, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Islamabad.

4.        Secretary, Senate of Pakistan, Islamabad.

5.        Secretary, National Assembly of Pakistan, Islamabad.

6.        Principal Secretary to Governor of Sindh, Karachi.

7.        Principal Secretary to Chief Minister of Sindh, Karachi.

8.        Secretary (Implementation) Services, General Administration & Coordination Department, Government of Sindh.

9.        Secretary Provincial Assembly of Punjab/ Khyber Pakhtun Khwa/ Balochistan/ Legislative Assembly Azad Jamu & Kashmir/ Gilgit-Baltistan, Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta , MuzaffarAbad, Gilgit-Baltistan.

10.     Secretary to Government of Sindh, Law Department.

11.     Inspector General of Police, Sindh, Karachi.

12.     Registrar, Sindh High Court, Karachi.

13.     Advocate General, Sindh, Karachi.

14.     Director, Press Information, Government of Sindh, Karachi.

15.     All Head of Branches, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

16.     Administrator (Automation), Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

17.     Deputy Director (Research), Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

18.     Staff Officer to Mr. Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

19.     Staff Officer to Madam Deputy Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

20.     P.S. to Ministers / Advisors/ Special Assistants to Chief Minister, Sindh.

21.     P.S. to Leader of Opposition, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.



Additional Secretary

Provincial Assembly of Sindh