Assembly Inception Date : April 5, 2008 and Dissolved Date : March 19, 2013
Printer Friendly


29th January 2011  |  PAS/Legis-G-8/2011/7874




1.   The Secretary to Government of Pakistan,

     Ministry of Water & Power,



2.   The Chief Secretary to Government of Sindh,




Subject:      RESOLUTION.


I am to state that the Provincial Assembly of Sindh in its sitting held on Thursday, the 20th January, 2011 has unanimously passed the following Resolution moved by Dr. Sikandar Ali Mandhro, MPA:-

“This Assembly resolves and recommends to the Government of Sindh to approach the Federal Government to strictly abide by the decision made by Competent Authority regarding the Constitution of Indus River System Authority (IRSA). On 10th July, 2000, a directive was issued and in part-C of part-I it was clearly mentioned that the Federal Member of IRSA should be from Sindh.


This Assembly has come to know that a Resolution is passed in Punjab Assembly to get the above decision altered and Federal Member be nominated from outside Sindh. Sindh being lower riparian has been suffering from shortages of water since decades, due to unjust frame work of IRSA, which was corrected by the decision of 10th July, 2000. It is therefore reiterated that it should be detrimental to the interest of Province of Sindh and this Assembly takes strong exception to the Punjab Assembly Resolution.”




Provincial Assembly of Sindh

No.PAS/Legis-G-8/2011/7874  Karachi        the 29th January, 2011.


A Copy is forwarded for information to:-

1.    Dr. Sikandar Ali Mandhro, MPA.

2.    The Principal Secretary to the President, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Islamabad.

3.    The Principal Secretary to Prime Minister, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Islamabad.

4.    Chairman, Indus River System Authority (IRSA).

5.    The Secretary, Senate of Pakistan, Islamabad.

6.    The Secretary, National Assembly of Pakistan, Islamabad.

7.    The Principal Secretary to Governor of Sindh, Karachi.

8.    The Principal Secretary to Chief Minister of Sindh, Karachi.

9.    The Secretary (Implementation) Services, General Administration & Coordination Department, Government of Sindh.

10. The Secretary to Government of Sindh, Information Department, Karachi.

11. The Secretary Provincial Assembly of Punjab/ Khyber Pakhtun Khwa/ Balochistan/ Legislative Assembly Azad Jamu & Kashmir/ Gilgit-Baltistan, Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta , MuzaffarAbad, Gilgit-Baltistan.

12. The Secretary, Government of Sindh, Law Department.

13. The Secretary, Government of Sindh, Irrigation Department.

14. The Director, Press Information, Government of Sindh, Karachi.

15. All Head of Branches, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

16. Staff Officer to Mr. Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

17. Staff Officer to Deputy Speaker, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

18. P.S to Leader of Opposition, Provincial Assembly of Sindh.

19. P.S to Ministers / Advisors/ Special Assistants to Chief Minister, Sindh.





Assistant Secretary (Legis:)

Provincial Assembly of Sindh